GB, Australia learn Olympic Sevens opponents

Great Britain will face New Zealand in the pool stages of the Rio Olympics Rugby Sevens.

The draw was made in Brazil on Tuesday, which saw Kenya and Japan also placed in Pool C.

Pool B will comprise of South Africa, Australia, France and Spain, while favourites Fiji are in Pool A along with Argentina, hosts Brazil, and defending Olympic champions the United States.

The competition will run from Aug. 9-11 at Deodoro Olympic Park, where the top two teams from each pool, plus the two best third-placed sides, will progress to the quarterfinals.

In the women’s draw, Pool A has top seeds and reigning World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series champions Australia with USA, Fiji and Colombia.

Great Britain are in Pool C, where they will meet Brazil, Canada and Japan.

New Zealand, Spain, France and Kenya will contest Group B.

Incoming World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “I anticipate that it will be one of the highlights of Rio 2016 as we showcase this great sport to a new audience of hundreds of millions around the world and inspire the next generation to get into rugby.”

Source Article from
GB, Australia learn Olympic Sevens opponents – RUGBY

Latest RUGBY news from

Be the first to comment on "GB, Australia learn Olympic Sevens opponents"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


17 − 14 =

%d bloggers like this: