Champions Cup final team news

12:00 PM BST

Saracens make one change for their Champions Cup final against an unchanged Clermont Auvergne side for tomorrow’s showdown Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh.

The only change sees Chris Wyles come into the starting lineup on the wing to replace the injured Sean Maitland, with Duncan Taylor earning a spot on the replacements bench.

Clermont had fitness concerns over Morgan Parra, Rémi Lamerat, Aurélien Rougerie and Davit Zirakashvili after their Champions Cup semifinal defeat of Leinster at Stade Marcel Michelin, but all have returned to training since.

Saracens will look to become the fourth club to win back-to-back European Cup titles, after Leicester Tigers, Leinster Rugby and RC Toulon.

While Clermont have lost on their two previous final appearances, no club has played in three finals without winning at least one and the French club have never faced an opposition side outside the Top 14.

Franck Azema’s Clermont are without the injured pair of Wesley Fofana and Noa Nakaitaci, and will look to wingers David Strettle and Nick Abendanon to provide speed on the wings while the centre partnership of Aurelien Rougerie and Remi Lamerat will have their work cut out with Marcelo Bosch and Brad Barrit in front of them.


15 Alex Goode, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Brad Barrit (c), 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Richard Wigglesworth; 1 Mako Vunipola, 2 Jamie George, 3 Vincent Koch, 4 Maro Itoje, 5 George Kruis, 6 Michael Rhodes, 7 Jackson Wray, 8 Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: 16. Schalk Brits, 17. Titi Lamositele, 18. Petrus Du Plessis, 19. Jim Hamilton, 20. Schalk Burger, 21. Ben Spencer, 22. Alex Lozowski, 23. Dunan Taylor.

Clermont Auvergne

15. Scott Spedding, 14. David Strettle, 13. Aurelien Rougerie, 12. Remi Lamerat, 11. Nick Abendanon, 10. Camille Lopez, 9. Morgan Parra; 1. Raphael Chaume, 2. Benjamin Kayser, 3. David Zirakashvili, 4. Artur Iturria, 5. Sebastien Vahaamahina, 6. Damien Chouly (c), 7. Peceli Yato, 8. Fritz Lee.

Replacements: 16. John Ulugia, 17. Etienne Falgoux, 18. Aaron Jarvis, 19. Paul Jedrasiak, 20. Alexandre Lapandry, 21. Ludovic Radoslavjevic, 22. Patricio Fernandez, 23. Damian Penaud.

Source Article from
Champions Cup final team news – RUGBY

Latest RUGBY news from

Be the first to comment on "Champions Cup final team news"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


twelve − 3 =