Evans red card rescinded ahead of final

Scarlets wing Steff Evans has been cleared to play in Saturday’s Guinness PRO12 final against Munster.

Evans was sent off for a dangerous tackle on Leinster centre Garry Ringrose during the PRO12 semifinal in Dublin last Friday but a disciplinary panel that convened in Edinburgh on Wednesday ruled by a majority decision that the red card should be rescinded.

It means the uncapped 22-year-old is also available for Wales’ Tests against Tonga and Samoa next month after being selected in the tour squad.

A statement released on behalf of the PRO12 read: “The disciplinary panel — Roddy Dunlop QC (chair), Roddy MacLeod and Iain Leslie (all Scotland) — decided, by a majority, that the player undertook a lawful tackle in a manner that was consistent with the laws of the game.

“The tackle only became dangerous as a result of the intervention of Scarlets no. 3 [Samson Lee].”

The panel referenced itself to the decision of an appeal committee made during the 2015 Rugby World Cup when three-week bans imposed on Scotland forwards Ross Ford and Richie Gray for a joint-tackle against Samoa were overturned on appeal.

The Scarlets, despite losing Evans just before half-time, produced a memorable performance to see off Leinster 27-15 and a book an Aviva Stadium return trip this weekend.

Source Article from http://www.espn.co.uk/rugby/story/_/id/19450416/scarlets-wing-steff-evans-cleared-play-pro12-final-munster
Evans red card rescinded ahead of final
http://www.espn.co.uk/rugby/story/_/id/19450416/scarlets-wing-steff-evans-cleared-play-pro12-final-munster
http://www.scrum.com/rss/rugby/story/feeds/0.rss
www.espn.co.uk – RUGBY

Latest RUGBY news from www.espn.co.uk

http://a.espncdn.com/i/espn/teamlogos/lrg/trans/espn_dotcom_black.gif

Be the first to comment on "Evans red card rescinded ahead of final"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


20 − 18 =

%d bloggers like this: