Pichot appears to question SBW ruling

3:42 PM BST

World Rugby vice-chairman Agustin Pichot has questioned the governing body’s decision to reduce Sonny Bill Williams’ suspension on appeal.

Williams has been cleared to play in New Zealand’s Rugby Championship opener against Australia on Aug. 19 after World Rugby ruled a warm-up game it initially decided was not meaningful was now deemed to “comply within the regulations’ definition of a match”.

Thursday’s ruling prompted plenty of debate on social media, with Pichot admitting he did not agree with the outcome.

The former Argentina scrum-half tweeted:

I dont agree on the decision of the independent pannel towards sbw’s case . But we have to respect the independent process.

— agustin pichot (@AP9_) August 3, 2017

Games counted should be meanigful games

— agustin pichot (@AP9_) August 3, 2017

Williams was initially banned for four weeks following his red card in the All Blacks’ second Test defeat to the British & Irish Lions last month.

Last week, World Rugby ruled that the Blues centre would miss the first Bledisloe Cup Test as it constituted the fourth “meaningful” match of that suspension.

However, it has since decided that an Aug. 11 game involving the All Blacks, Counties Manukau and Taranaki does qualify as the final game of Williams’ ban.

Source Article from http://www.espn.co.uk/rugby/story/_/id/20235641/agustin-pichot-questions-world-rugby-sonny-bill-williams-appeal-ruling
Pichot appears to question SBW ruling
http://www.espn.co.uk/rugby/story/_/id/20235641/agustin-pichot-questions-world-rugby-sonny-bill-williams-appeal-ruling
http://www.scrum.com/rss/rugby/story/feeds/0.rss
www.espn.co.uk – RUGBY

Latest RUGBY news from www.espn.co.uk

http://a.espncdn.com/i/espn/teamlogos/lrg/trans/espn_dotcom_black.gif

Be the first to comment on "Pichot appears to question SBW ruling"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


4 × 4 =